music-why the differences in taste?

Lucky Dube 01 033a-L

Imagine you are at a party. There was music, dancing, singing, games and things like that. As different songs came on, you noticed that some people were standing and enjoying but some people were sitting. When a different song came on, the people who were sitting, stood up and enjoyed the song. The people who were enjoying the other song, sat down. You wondered, “Why do people like different types of music? When you listen to any genre of music, you like it. Sometimes even love it. Have you ever wondered why you like that genre?

It got me thinking how I came to love reggae because for real its becoming my medicine whenever I settle alone. I even argue with pals because when the music is playing I never pay attention to what they are saying. Born in all kamba environment I grew up singing benga and talking about ken wa maria, kimangu, kativui and others but look at me now, I got alienated, I never embrace the music I grew up with.

its not easy– Lucky Dube is one track that brought this thought to my head. I listened to this music for 5 hours without changing the playlist ’cause I was just okay. Leave alone the mesage but the smooth piano sounds took me away.

240_F_94891183_7R39JR0m4UgIePRFhKafxrHCB31hNcGL

Why listen to different genres of music?  Mostly why people listen to music is because they just like it. There is no reason why, they just do.
So next time, you listen to a genre of music, think about why you specifically listen to that type. Is it because of the way you view it, because you can relate to it, because you grew up with it, or because of the way you like it. Also next time you find someone with a different liking of music than you, don’t say they have a “bad taste in music”, maybe they like it for the same reasons you like your music. Remember, music is like candy, everyone has their favorite type.